Residency in the Division of General Surgery

Residency Program

Program Director, Residency Training
Dr. Savtaj Brar

Welcome to the University of Toronto’s General Surgery Residency Training Program. The residency training program in General Surgery at the University of Toronto is the largest and perhaps most diverse of its kind in Canada.  Our vision is to ensure excellence in clinical and academic training of our Residents.  We know that we are preparing tomorrow’s leaders in General Surgery. 

Our training Program is home to approximately 100 faculty members, over 6 Fully Affiliated Academic Health Centres, and 5 Affiliated Community Hospitals.  In addition, the Program provides rural training opportunities through the Rural Ontario Medicine Training Program.  We offer outstanding opportunities to engage in research activities; via longitudinal research electives or through the Clinical Investigator Program.  Our faculty members are highly invested in Residency Training and many are opinion leaders in their own subspecialty area of General Surgery.

Under the leadership of Drs. Rutka, (University Department Chair), Levine (Department of Surgery, Post Graduate Director), Swallow (University Division Chair) and Brar (General Surgery, Program Director), the Program provides a rich environment for learning and enquiry. The University of Toronto teaching hospitals provide surgical care for a large urban population as well as patients from a vast catchment area and referral network. This arrangement provides outstanding learning opportunities and a breadth of clinical volume that is unsurpassed almost anywhere in North America.   We warmly invite you to be part of our Program. 

Please contact Ms. Madeline Ng ( or Dr. Sav Brar ( to learn more.

Fully Affiliated Academic Health Centres: 

  • Mount Sinai Hospital 
  • University Health Network - Toronto General 
  • University Health Network - Toronto Western 
  • St Michael's Hospital 
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre 
  • The Hospital for Sick Children 

Affiliated Community Hospitals: 

  • North York General Hospital
  • Humber River Regional Hospital 
  • Trillium Health Centre 
  • St Joseph's Health Care Centre 
  • Toronto East General Hospital

Wellness Resources

Program Support

Program Director: Dr. Sav Brar
Wellness Lead: Dr. Tulin Cil
Director of Postgraduate Medical Wellness Office: Dr. Julie Maggi
Director of Learner Experience, Faculty of Medicine: Dr. Reena Pattani
Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Lead: Dr. Erin Kennedy

Support Services

Postgraduate Medical Education Wellness Office 

The Office of Resident Wellness was created to help support the well-being of the University of Toronto’s Post Graduate Medical Education trainees and to offer assistance to those encountering difficulties during training. All currently registered residents and fellows have access to support services such as confidential counseling/psychotherapy and wellness coaching.

Open Monday to Friday. For office hours, appointments and further information, contact:
Tel.: 416 946-3074 | Email:

PARO Helpline (24/7): 1-866-HELP-DOC (1.866.435.7362)

Ontario Medical Association Physician Health Program (PHP) 

Open Monday-Friday, 8:45am-5pm. Contact for services and inquiries: Tel.: 1.800.851.6606 | Email:

Wellness Support Line (24/7 crisis support): 1.800.851.6606

Canadian Medical Association (CMA) Wellness Hub 

Wellness Resources for Faculty (and Residents) 

Psychological First Aid for Frontline Health Care Providers During COVID-19 

CPSO Physician Wellness 

CaRMS Selection and Training Opportunities

University of Toronto Postgraduate Medical Education – Apply for Training 

Elective training opportunities

AFMC Student Portal – Visiting elective application service for undergraduate medical students.

Canadian Resident Matching Service (CaRMS) - application and matching service for medical training throughout Canada (for Canadian citizens and permanent residents)

Program Description 

CMG Stream
IMG Stream

Relevant Experience CMG 
Relevant Experience IMG 

CaRMS Letter of Reference Guide

Administrative Structure

General Surgery - Residency Program Committee (GS-RPC)

Terms of Reference


Dr. Savtaj Brar Chair; Program Director; Mount Sinai Hospital
Dr. Shiva Jayaraman Associate Program Director, Curriculum; Unity Health Toronto - St. Joseph’s Health Centre
Dr. Preeti Dhar Assistant Program Director, University Health Network - Toronto General Hospital
Dr. Peter Stotland Assistant Program Director, North York General Hospital
Dr. Georges Azzie Resident Site Coordinator, The Hospital for Sick Children
Dr. Danielle Bischof Resident Site Coordinator, Mount Sinai Hospital
Dr. Marcus Burnstein Resident Site Coordinator, Unity Health Toronto - St. Michael’s Hospital
Dr. Tulin Cil Wellness Lead; Resident Site Coordinator, University Health Network - Princess Margaret Hospital
Dr. Jamie Cyriac Resident Site Coordinator, Toronto East Health Network/Michael Garron
Dr. Laz Klein Resident Site Coordinator, Humber River Hospital
Dr. Nicole Look Hong Resident Site Coordinator, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Dr. Ashlie Nadler Resident Site Coordinator, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Dr. Aman Pooni Toronto East Health Network/Michael Garron
Dr. Todd Penner Resident Site Coordinator, University Health Network - Toronto Western Hospital
Dr. Ted Ross Resident Site Coordinator, Women's College Hospital
Dr. Melanie Tsang Resident Site Coordinator, Unity Health Toronto - St. Joseph’s Health Centre
Dr. Alice Zhu PGY1
Dr. Elliot Yee PGY1
Dr. Karanbir Brar PGY1
Dr. Sachin Doshi PGY2
Dr. Kimberley Lam Tin Cheung  PGY2
Dr. Johanna Pinto Lee PGY2
Dr. Riordan Azam PGY3
Dr. Luckshi Rajendran PGY3
Dr. Jordyn Vernon PGY3
Dr. Hala Muaddi PGY4
Dr. May-Anh Nguyen PGY4
Dr. Graham Skelhorne-Gross PGY4
Dr. Serio Acuna PGY5
Dr. Dhruvin Hirpara PGY5
Dr. Megan Melland-Smith  PGY5
Dr. Julian Daza Vargas Surgeon Scientist Training Program
Dr. Keegan Guidolin  Surgeon Scientist Training Program
Dr. Alexander Gregor Surgeon Scientist Training Program
Dr. Phil Williams SSTP, Selections Committee Co-Chair
Non-Voting Members  
Madeline Ng Program Coordinator
Dr. Carol Swallow Chair, Division of General Surgery (ex officio)
Dr. Mojdan Hodaie Director, Postgraduate Education (ex officio)

General Surgery Competency Committee 

Terms of Reference


Dr. Preeti Dhar, Chair

Dr. Georges Azzie

Dr. Savtaj Brar

Dr. Tulin Cil

Dr. Jamie Cyriac

Dr. Shiva Jayaraman

Dr. Brian Pinchuk

Dr. Peter Stotland

Dr. Melanie Tsang


Update in General Surgery 



Annual Assembly 

Research Information Night





Ready, Set, Go PGYI Orientation   



Resident Education Retreat

CAGS In-training Exam






Department of Surgery Meetings and Events



PGME Events