About Vascular Surgery

Message From the Chair

Dear Colleagues,

Welcome to our website and we hope you find it informative.  The Division of Vascular Surgery was formed as a separate Division at the University of Toronto in 1982 with Dr. K. Wayne Johnston named the first Division Chair.  Dr. Thomas Lindsay completed his term as University Division Chair in 2014 and I’m proud to follow in their footsteps, beginning in 2014.  Our Division’s clinical activities are based at three main academic hospitals, St. Michael’s, Sunnybrook and University Health Network and two affiliate sites, Humber River and Trillium.

The Division of Vascular Surgery at the University of Toronto has a long and established track record of clinical excellence, academic productivity, and excellence in education. The Division has received international acclaim with members having served as Presidents of major vascular surgery societys  (CSVS, PVSS, SVS), Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Vascular Surgery and Editor of the preeminent textbook in the field, Rutherfords Vascular Surgery, as well as leadership positions with the Vascular Surgery Specialty Committee of the Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC). 

We continue to build our academic footprint and expand our research contributions which range from animal models of aneurysm pathogenesis, clinical trials and health methodology research, advanced imaging techniques and peripheral arterial disease, and collaborations with mechanical engineering regarding endovascular device development, among many others.  The academic year culminates with our annual Research Day and the keynote, K. Wayne Johnston Visiting Lecture.

Our vascular surgery residency program attracts many of the best candidates across the country who will be tomorrow’s leaders in our specialty.  We also provide several fellowship opportunities for Canadian and international candidates, including the newly developed Advanced Aortic Surgery Fellowship, a unique collaborative effort with our Cardiac Surgery colleagues.

I hope you find our website helpful.  We are very proud of our past accomplishments but are eager to accomplish even more in the future as we pursue our Vision – United in a Tradition of Leadership, Discovery and Excellence.


Giuseppe Papia MD, MSc, FRCSC, FRSCS


Vascular Surgery was established as a separate Division in the Department of Surgery at the University of Toronto in 1982 with the appointment of Dr. K. Wayne Johnston as Divisional Chair. Prior to this time, vascular surgery training was obtained in the Division of Cardiovascular Surgery predominantly under the supervision of Drs. Ronald Baird, Donald Wilson and James Key. 

Before the formal establishment of a separate Division, two teaching hospitals created separate vascular surgery services. The Wellesley Hospital Division was established in 1978 and Dr. John Provan appointed as the Hospital Division Head and the service at The Toronto Hospital was also formed in 1978 with Dr. K. Wayne Johnston as the first Hospital Division Head. Dr. Thomas Lindsay then served as Division Chair.  

Dr. Giuseppe Papia is the present Divisional Chair. 

The University of Toronto Division of Vascular Surgery has an active residency and fellowship program at the three main academic sites, University Health Network-Toronto General Hospital, St. Michael's Hospital and Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre. Clinical rotations also take place at Trillium and Humber Regional Hospitals.  

See the faculty section for a list of the participating faculty members.


Strategic Plan 

Strategic Plan.pdf