James Rutka Reappointed as Chair, Department of Surgery

Jan 29, 2016

James Rutka has been re-appointed as the R.S. McLaughlin Professor and Chair of the Department of Surgery for a second five-year term, effective April 1, 2016. Since joining the Department of Surgery in 1990, Dr. Rutka has had an exceptional academic, clinical and research career, which has been recognized by his election to the Order of Canada, Royal Society of Canada, Canadian Academy of Health Sciences and Order of Ontario — among numerous other prestigious awards and honors. He served in some of the most senior leadership roles in our discipline, including as President of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons, World Academy of Neurological Surgery and American Academy of Neurological Surgery, and is also our immediate past Dan Family Chair of Neurosurgery at the University of Toronto. In 2013, Dr. Rutka was installed as the 7th Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Neurosurgery. In 2015, he received the Margolese National Brain Disorders Prize from the University of British Columbia. Congratulations to Dr. Rutka on his second term.