ANA 498Y1

 

ANA498Y (Honors Research Project) is a 4th year level course designed to give students direct, hands-on experience in a research laboratory. The investigators that are interested in supervising students in their labs cover a broad range of specialties including Histology, Cellular and Molecular Biology, Developmental Biology, Neuroscience and Gross Anatomy. This course is a full credit course offered in the Fall/Winter and Summer semesters.

Prerequisite: No specific prerequisite required. However, potential supervisors have the latitude to accept students according to individual criteria, including academic background.

How to Apply: 

1.    Contact and be approved by a supervisor. 
2.    Fill out Ballot.pdf and submit the completed and signed ballot to anatomy@utoronto.ca 

Note: If the supervisor has not previously supervised ANA498Y the student is required to provide a brief summary of the proposed work along with the ballot. Successful applicants will be registered into ROSI by the divison. You are responsible for ensuring that you have been successfully registered in the course.

Expectations and Assessment Information:

 

 

It is required that you will spend a minimum of 8-10 hours per work week (Mon-Fri) in the lab working on the project.
The project must be hypothesis driven and related to Anatomy in the broadest sense. This includes studies in cell biology, molecular biology, systems biology, developmental biology, neuroscience, anatomy and histology.

The mark will take into account the following:

  • Understanding of the project and its relationship to the relevant literature
  • Hours and effort invested in the project
  • Technical skills
  • Quality of the data and data analysis
  • Written report and oral presentation (see below)
  • Overall “ownership” of the project (are you contributing to the development and progress of the project or just waiting to be told what to do next?)

 

 

Written Assessments:

You will be required to submit the following documents to remain in good standing in the course:

  • Project Outline - An outline of no more than 1 page submitted to the course director and supervisor within the first 6-8 weeks of a fall/winter enrollment.
  • Progress Report – A 2-3 page progress report submitted to your supervisor and course director in the 2nd term of fall/winter enrollment.
  • Final Written Report – A final written report submitted to your supervisor and the course director at the end of term. The exact format of the written report will be determined by the supervisor.

Oral Assessment:

You will be required to give a 15 minute oral presentation of your project to other project students and faculty. These presentations will take place at the end of the term at times to be determined.

 

Finding a Supervisor:

Choose a field of research that is of interest to you then contact potential supervisors working in your area of interest. Arrange a meeting to discuss your interests. The prospective supervisor does not need to be a member of the Division of Anatomy however, they must be a faculty member at the University of Toronto. Student and supervisor should discuss an appropriate research project, and review the general terms of supervision.

There are hundreds of faculty members conducting a wide variety of research activities, who can serve as potential supervisors for an ANA498Y project. The Division of Anatomy posts a short list (below) of faculty who have previously supervised ANA498Y1 project students for you to get an idea of the scope and breadth of research that is considered relevant for an ANA498Y1 project. Notably, this is not an exhaustive list of labs willing to work with students on a research project.

 

 

 

Name

Area

Email

Website

Anne Agur

Anatomy

anne.agur@utoronto.ca

https://surgery.utoronto.ca/content/anne-agur

Arash Zarrine-Afsar

 

Medical Biophysics

arash.zarrine.afsar@utoronto.ca

https://medbio.utoronto.ca/faculty/zarrine-afsar

https://www.uhnresearch.ca/researcher/arash-zarrine-afsar

Ayman Al Habeeb

Laboratory medicine & Pathobiology

Ayman.AlHabeeb@thp.ca

http://www.lmp.utoronto.ca/research/faculty-research-database/al-habeeb-ayman

Upton Allen

 

Health Policy, Management, & Evaluation

upton.allen@sickkids.ca

https://ihpme.utoronto.ca/faculty/allen-upton/

http://www.sickkids.ca/AboutSickKids/Directory/People/A/Upton-Allen-Staff-Profile.html

Robert Andrews

Civil and Mineral Engineering

andrews@ecf.utoronto.ca

http://civmin.utoronto.ca/home/about-us/directory/professors/robert-andrews/

Ana Andreazza

 

Pharmacology & Toxicology

Psychiatry

ana.andreazza@utoronto.ca

https://www.pharmtox.utoronto.ca/faculty-ana-cristina-andreazza-phd

Darius Bagli

 

Urology

Surgery

Physiology

Medical Science

darius.bagli@sickkids.ca

https://surgery.utoronto.ca/content/darius-bagli

http://www.sickkids.ca/AboutSickKids/Directory/People/B/darius-bagli-staff-profile.html

Jane Batt

Medical Science

Respirology 

jane.batt@utoronto.ca

https://ims.utoronto.ca/faculty/faculty-online-community/faculty-members/battjane/

http://stmichaelshospitalresearch.ca/researchers/jane-batt/

Denise Belsham

Physiology

d.belsham@utoronto.ca

https://www.physiology.utoronto.ca/content/denise-belsham

http://belshamlab.com/

Reina Bendayan

Pharmacy

r.bendayan@utoronto

http://phm.utoronto.ca/~bendayan/

Abdrea Boggild

Infectious Diseases

andrea.boggild@utoronto.ca

http://facdir.deptmedicine.utoronto.ca/Detail.aspx?id=2381&showdivisiontitle=1&division_id=I03

https://www.boggildlab.ca/boggildlab_teams/dr-andrea-boggild/

Rod Bremner

 

Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology

bremner@lunenfeld.ca

http://www.lmp.utoronto.ca/research/faculty-research-database/bremner-rod

http://www.lunenfeld.ca/researchers/bremner

Patricia Brubaker

Physiology

p.brubaker@utoronto.ca

https://www.physiology.utoronto.ca/content/patricia-l-brubaker

http://www.chairs-chaires.gc.ca/chairholders-titulaires/profile-eng.aspx?profileID=621

Mac Burnham

Pharmacology & Toxicology

mac.burnham@utoronto.ca

https://www.pharmtox.utoronto.ca/faculty-w-mcintyre-burnham-phd

Peter Carlen

Physiology

carlen@uhnres.utoronto.ca

https://www.physiology.utoronto.ca/content/peter-carlen

https://www.uhnresearch.ca/researcher/peter-l-carlen

Brian Cox

Physiology

b.cox@utoronto.ca

https://www.physiology.utoronto.ca/content/brian-cox

http://sites.utoronto.ca/coxlab/

Peter Dirks

Molecular Genetics

peter.dirks@sickkids.ca

http://www.moleculargenetics.utoronto.ca/faculty/2014/10/1/peter-dirks

https://surgery.utoronto.ca/faculty-focus-peter-dirks

http://www.sickkids.ca/AboutSickKids/Directory/People/D/Peter-Dirks.html

Sean Egan

Molecular Genetics

segan@sickkids.ca

http://www.moleculargenetics.utoronto.ca/faculty/2014/10/1/sean-egan

http://www.sickkids.ca/AboutSickKids/Directory/People/E/Sean-Egan.html

Jim Eubanks

 

Physiology

Surgery

jeubanks@uhnres.utoronto.ca

https://www.physiology.utoronto.ca/content/jim-eubanks

https://www.uhnresearch.ca/researcher/james-h-eubanks

Darcy Fehlings

Health Policy, Management, & Evaluation

dfehlings@hollandbloorview.ca

https://ihpme.utoronto.ca/faculty/darcy-fehlings/

Michael Fehlings

Neuroscience

michael.fehlings@uhnresearch.ca

https://www.uhnresearch.ca/researcher/michael-g-fehlings

http://drfehlings.ca/

Zhong-Ping Feng

Physiology

zp.feng@utoronto.ca

https://www.physiology.utoronto.ca/content/zhong-ping-feng

https://www.fenglab.ca/zpfeng

Paul Frankland

Physiology

Medical Science

Neuroscience

paul.frankland@sickkids.ca

https://www.physiology.utoronto.ca/content/paul-frankland

http://www.sickkids.ca/AboutSickKids/Directory/People/F/Paul-Frankland.html

http://www.franklandlab.com/

Adria Giacca

Physiology

adria.giacca@utoronto.ca

https://www.physiology.utoronto.ca/content/adria-giacca

Michael Glogauer

Dentistry

Michael.glogauer@dentistry.utoronto.ca

https://www.dentistry.utoronto.ca/faculty-profiles/michael-glogauer

Jeff Henderson

Pharmacy

jeff.henderson@utoronto.ca

https://pharmacy.utoronto.ca/users/henderson-j/

http://phm.utoronto.ca/~jeffh/henderson.htm

Mansoor Husain

Medical Science

Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology

mansoor.husain@uhn.ca

http://www.lmp.utoronto.ca/research/faculty-research-database/husain-mansoor

https://www.uhnresearch.ca/researcher/mansoor-husain

Zhengping Jia

 

Physiology

zhengping.jia@sickkids.ca

https://www.physiology.utoronto.ca/content/zhengping-jia

http://www.sickkids.ca/AboutSickKids/Directory/People/J/zhengping-jia-staff-profile.html

Sheena Josselyn

 

Physiology

Medical Science

sheena.josselyn@sickkids.ca

https://www.physiology.utoronto.ca/content/sheena-josselyn

http://www.sickkids.ca/AboutSickKids/Directory/People/J/Sheena-Josselyn.html

Rita Kandel

Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology

rita.kandel@sinaihealthsystem.ca

http://www.lmp.facmed.utoronto.ca/research/faculty-research-database/kandel-rita

http://www.lunenfeld.ca/researchers/kandel

https://www.sinaihealthsystem.ca/team/dr-rita-kandel/

Armand Keating

Medical Science

armand.keating@uhn.ca

https://ims.utoronto.ca/faculty/faculty-online-community/faculty-members/keatingarmand/

http://www.uhnresearch.ca/researcher/armand-keating

Rama Khokha

 

Medial Biophysics

rama.khokha@utoronto.ca

https://medbio.utoronto.ca/faculty/khokha

http://khokhalab.uhnres.utoronto.ca/

Junchul Kim

Cell & Systems Biology

kim@psych.utoronto.ca

https://csb.utoronto.ca/junchul-kim/

http://www.junchulkimlab.com/

Paulo Koeberle

Anatomy

paulo.koeberle@utoronto.ca

https://surgery.utoronto.ca/content/paulo-koeberle

Madeline Li

Psychiatry

madeline.li@uhn.ca

https://www.psychiatry.utoronto.ca/faculty/dr-madeline-li

https://www.uhnresearch.ca/researcher/madeline-li

Marius Locke

Kinesiology & Physical Education

marius.locke@utoronto.ca

https://kpe.utoronto.ca/faculty/locke-marius

R. Loch Macdonald

Surgery

macdonaltlo@smh.ca

http://stmichaelshospitalresearch.ca/researchers/r-loch-macdonald/

https://surgery.utoronto.ca/faculty-focus-r-loch-macdonald

Christopher Macgowan

 

Medical Biophysics

christopher.macgowan@sickkids.ca

https://medbio.utoronto.ca/faculty/macgowan

http://www.sickkids.ca/Research/physiology-and-experimental-medicine/lab-and-research-project-sites/Macgowan-Lab.html

http://www.sickkids.ca/Research/AbouttheInstitute/Profiles/PEM/macgowan-profile.html

Mark McVey

 

Anesthesia

mark.mcvey@sickkids.ca

http://www.anesthesia.utoronto.ca/faculty/mark-mcvey

Cindi Morshead

Surgery

Anatomy

cindi.morshead@utoronto.ca

https://surgery.utoronto.ca/content/cindi-morshead

http://sites.utoronto.ca/morsheadlab/

Beverley Orser

Anesthesia

beverley.orser@utoronto.ca

https://www.anesthesia.utoronto.ca/dr-beverley-orser

https://sunnybrook.ca/research/team/member.asp?t=12&m=125&page=172

https://orserlab.com/

Kara Patterson

Physical Therapy

kara.patterson@utoronto.ca

https://www.physicaltherapy.utoronto.ca/faculty/kara-patterson/

https://www.uhnresearch.ca/researcher/kara-patterson

Gerald Prud’homme

Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology

prudhommeg@smh.ca

http://www.lmp.facmed.utoronto.ca/research/faculty-research-database/prudhomme-gerald

http://stmichaelshospitalresearch.ca/researchers/gerald-j-prudhomme/

Amy Ramsay

Pharmacology & Toxicology

Physiology 

a.ramsey@utoronto.ca

https://www.pharmtox.utoronto.ca/faculty-amy-j-ramsey-phd

Chaim Roifman

Immunology

chaim.roifman@sickkids.on.ca

https://www.immunology.utoronto.ca/content/chaim-roifman

http://www.sickkids.ca/AboutSickKids/Directory/People/R/Chaim-Roifman.html

Marjan Rouzbahman

Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology

marjan.rouzbahman@uhn.ca

http://www.lmp.utoronto.ca/research/faculty-research-database/rouzbahman-marjan

https://www.uhnresearch.ca/researcher/marjan-rouzbahman

Ian Scott

Molecular Genetics

ian.scott@sickkids.ca

http://www.moleculargenetics.utoronto.ca/faculty/ian-scott

http://www.sickkids.ca/AboutSickKids/Directory/People/S/Ian-C-Scott.html

Markus Selzner

Surgery

marcus.selzner@uhn.ca

https://surgery.utoronto.ca/content/markus-selzner

https://www.uhnresearch.ca/researcher/markus-selzner

Philip Sherman

Institute of Medical Science

philip.sherman@sickkids.ca

https://ims.utoronto.ca/faculty/faculty-online-community/faculty-members/shermanphilip/

http://www.sickkids.ca/AboutSickKids/Directory/People/S/Philip-Sherman.html

Sachdev Sidhu

Molecular Genetics

sachdev.sidhu@utoronto.ca

https://tdccbr.med.utoronto.ca/content/sachdev-sidhu

http://sites.utoronto.ca/sidhulab/

Earl Silverman

Institute of Medical Science

earl.silverman@sickkids.ca

https://ims.utoronto.ca/faculty/faculty-online-community/faculty-members/silvermanearl/

http://www.sickkids.ca/AboutSickKids/Directory/People/S/Earl-Silverman.html

Hong-Shuo Sun

Surgery

hss.sun@utoronto.ca

https://surgery.utoronto.ca/content/hong-shuo-sun

Derek Van Der Kooy

Medical Biophysics

derek.van.der.kooy@utoronto.ca

https://medbio.utoronto.ca/faculty/vanderkooy

http://sites.utoronto.ca/neurobiology/

Lu-Yang Wang

Physiology

Neuroscience

luyang.wang@utoronto.ca

lu-yang.wang@sickkids.ca

https://www.physiology.utoronto.ca/content/lu-yang-wang

http://www.sickkids.ca/AboutSickKids/Directory/People/W/Lu-Yang-Wang.html

Peter G. Wells

Toxicology

 

pg.wells@utoronto.ca

https://www.pharmtox.utoronto.ca/faculty-peter-g-wells-pharmd

Aaron Wheeler

Chemistry

Aaron.wheeler@utoronto.ca

https://www.chemistry.utoronto.ca/people/directories/all-faculty/aaron-wheeler

http://microfluidics.utoronto.ca/

Anne Wheeler

Physiology

Neuroscience

anne.wheeler@sickkids.ca

https://www.physiology.utoronto.ca/content/anne-wheeler

http://www.sickkids.ca/AboutSickKids/Directory/People/W/Anne-Wheeler.html

Rae Yeung

Institute of Medical Science

Immunology

Paediatrics

rae.yeung@sickkids.ca

https://ims.utoronto.ca/faculty/faculty-online-community/faculty-members/yeungrae/

http://www.sickkids.ca/AboutSickKids/Directory/People/Y/rae-yeung-staff-profile.html

https://lab.research.sickkids.ca/yeung/

Yeni Yucel

Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology

Institute of Medical Science

yuely@smh.ca

http://www.lmp.facmed.utoronto.ca/research/faculty-research-database/yucel-yeni

http://stmichaelshospitalresearch.ca/researchers/yucel-yeni/

Eldad Zacksenhaus

Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology

Medical Biophysics

eldad.zacksenhaus@utoronto.ca

http://www.lmp.facmed.utoronto.ca/research/faculty-research-database/zacksenhaus-eldad

https://www.uhnresearch.ca/researcher/eldad-zacksenhaus-0

Augusto Zani

 

General Surgery

Neonatal and Paediatric Surgery

 

Augusto.zani@sickkids.ca

https://surgery.utoronto.ca/content/augusto-zani

Contact Information: 

Division of Anatomy office: 
Medical Sciences Building, 
1 King's College Circle, Room 1156 
Email: anatomy@utoronto.ca 
Phone: 416-978-2690

More Information: