Apr 17, 2023

Recent academic promotions at the Department of Surgery

Dear Colleagues,
Please join me in warmly congratulating our Department of Surgery faculty members who have recently been promoted to a higher academic rank (see list below), after a thorough review by the Decanal Promotions Committee of the Temerity Faculty of Medicine.
The Department of Surgery had a 100% success rate with our promotion applications for this cycle, which is a tribute to the hard strategic work of our Departmental Promotions Committee, chaired by Earl Bogoch. I wish to especially acknowledge the critical role that staff member Sylvia Perry plays in this process, and thank her for her dedication.
Below is the list of faculty members who have recently been promoted, along with their new academic titles.


  • Dr. Osami Honjo
  • Dr. Girish Kulkarni
  • Dr. Katalin Szaszi

Associate Professor:

  • Dr. Amit Atrey
  • Dr. Heather Baltzer
  • Dr. Sami Chadi
  • Dr. Anthony de Buck van Overstraeten
  • Dr. Charles de Mestral
  • Dr Barbara Haas
  • Dr. Kathryn Howe
  • Dr. Michael Ordon
  • Dr. Jonathan Yeung

Congratulations to all of our colleagues on their well-deserved new titles. We are so proud to have you in our academic family!​




Carol J. Swallow, MD PhD FRCSC FACS

RS McLaughlin Professor and Chair

Department of Surgery, University of Toronto