D.R. Wilson Award

The D.R. Wilson Award for Teaching is made annually to the surgical resident who is rated by undergraduate students as being an outstanding teacher. The recipient of this award will be a resident whose teaching in any one of all of the following settings has been highly evaluated by students: teaching on the ward during the course of day-to-day service activities, teaching in the operating room, and teaching in the clinic setting. The resident will demonstrate both a positive attitude toward teaching and will be considered a good surgical role model for undergraduate medical students.

The quality of the candidate’s teaching will be determined by means of the following:

  1. Objective student assessment (by questionnaire).
  2. Review of clerkship debriefing reports.
  3. Letters of recommendation from students and/or faculty.

Nominations may be made by students, faculty or residents in writing to the Director of Undergraduate Education. All nominations are reviewed by the Undergraduate Education Committee and a list ranking the candidates is provided to the Chairman of the Department for final selection.

The D.R. Wilson Award is awarded at the Gallie Day Reception. The recipients receive a cheque for $500.


2017 Dr. M. Murphy

2016         Dr. J. Greenberg & Dr. K. Isaac

2015         Dr. H. Yan

2014         Dr. J. Lee

2013         Dr. R. Somogyi

2012         Dr. M. Heng

2011         Dr. T. Al-Rasheed

2010         Dr. R. Jinnah

2009         Dr. M. Keays

2008         Dr. M. Boulton

2007         Dr. A. Eckhaus  

2006         Dr. S. Rai 

2005         Dr. P. Stotland

2004         Dr. A. Kader 

2003         Dr. B. Shayegan  

2002         Dr. Y. Botros

2001         Dr. P. Ferguson  

2000         Dr. C. Haywood  

1999         Dr. J. Lipa 

1998         Dr. R. Marx  

1997         Dr. S. Lewis  

1996         Dr. P. Chu 

1995         Dr. P. Petrasek  

1994         Dr. Z. Gamliel 

1993         Dr. D. Anastakis  

1992         Dr. C. Hutchison  

1991         Dr. G. Sandor 

1990         Dr. K. Ashe 

1989         Dr. E. Vallieres  

1988         Dr. J. Wright